TRENDING NEWS STORIES Songs For Mother's Day | Wayback: FFH Turns 20 | Christian Soundtracks: Star Wars
NRT Christian Music News Update
The First Annual Grizzly Awards Announces Winners, Airs Special
On-demand live show celebrates the best in Christian Rock and Metal

The First Annual Grizzly Awards Announces Winners, Airs Special

Posted: April 02, 2020, 5:00 PM | Category: Events
Artist Tags: Demon Hunter / Disciple / Seventh Day Slumber / Comrades / Rusty Shipp / Wolves At the Gate / Random Hero / Switchfoot / Skillet / Fight The Fade / Adelaide / Death Therapy / War Of Ages / P.O.D. (Payable On Death)
Source: NRT Staff Reports (KM)

The Grizzly Awards, celebrating the best in Christian Rock and Metal from the past year, aired their first annual award special featuring live performances and winner announcements.

The live 2+ hour special featured performances by Disciple, Random Hero, All Above Me, Bayless, Adelaide, and Rusty Shipp. Individual instrumentalists of Seventh Day Slumber and Wolves At The Gate also gave solo performances. You can watch the entire show on-demand below or here on Facebook.


Winners and runner-ups were announced in 18 categories with Disciple leading the way with four wins including Modern Rock Album of the Year, Lyric Video of the Year, Best Guitarist and Best Album Art Design. Other winners included RED, Skillet, Comrades, Wolves At the Gate, Switchfoot and many more.

A virtual tip jar awarded five bands a $100 gift card to help with ongoing touring expenses. Fans nominated bands throughout the show and the winners were Gold Frankincense & Myrrh, All Above Me, Reclaim The Day, Wolves At The Gate and Comrades.

Album of the Year: Metal/Metalcore
Peace, War (Demon Hunter)
RU: War of Ages

Album of the Year: Modern Rock
Love Letter Kill Shot (Disciple)
RU: Seventh Day Slumber

Album of the Year: Alternative Rock
For We Are Not Yet, We Are Only Becoming (Comrades)
RU: Rusty Shipp

Song of the Year: Metal/Metalcore
"The Cure" (Wolves At The Gate)
RU: Glasslands

Song of the Year: Modern Rock
"Legendary" (Skillet)
Runner Up: "Tension" (Random Hero)

Song of the Year: Alternative Rock
"Native Tongue" (Switchfoot)
RU: The Midnight Wedding

Music Video of the Year
"The Evening Hate" (RED)
RU: "Your Gun My Knife" (Zahna)

Lyric Video of the Year
"Panic Room" (Disciple)
RU: "Everything is Fine" (Fight the Fade)

Best Vocalist
Laura Respondek (Adelaide)

Best Songwriter
Josiah Prince

Best Guitarist
Andrew Stanton (Disciple)

Best Bass Player
Jason Wisdom (Death Therapy)

Best Drummer
TD Benton (White Collar Sideshow)

Best Album Art Design
Love Letter Kill Shot (Disciple)
RU: War of Ages

Best International Band (Outside of the U.S.)
Paradise Now
RU: Amongst Wolves

Producer of the Year
Jake Jones

Legacy Award (Bands Who Released Albums in 1999)
Fundamental Elements of Southtown by P.O.D.

Fan Choice


More Christian Music News Headlines View All News Add News


Planetboom Releases Double-Single
Monday, June 05, 2023
Jonathan Isaac Announces Anti-Woke Sports Apparel Brand
Monday, June 05, 2023
K-LOVE Fan Awards Announce 2023 Winners
Sunday, June 04, 2023
NRT Staff Featured in Justin Warren Music Video
Friday, June 02, 2023
Coby James Announces Engagement
Thursday, June 01, 2023
Dennis Quaid Announces Debut Gospel Album
Thursday, June 01, 2023
Planetshakers Releases New Single Ahead of Upcoming Album
Sunday, May 28, 2023
Kari Jobe and Cody Carnes Announce Summer 2023 Tour
Sunday, May 28, 2023
The Rock Music Announce Upcoming Album
Friday, May 26, 2023
View All News

Christian Music, Facebook Christian Music, Twitter Christian Music, YouTube Christian Music, Instagram

11TH ANNUAL WE LOVE AWARDS IS HERE! Vote Now | Watch Official Nomination Videos | Listen To Apple Music Playlist

Christian Music

©2022 NewReleaseToday
A Division Of NRT Media Inc.


Discover New Artists
New This Week
Coming Soon
Free Music
Album Reviews

New Music
Movies / Media

NRT Now Podcast
NRT Podcast Network

Music Videos

Concert Reviews
We Love Awards

Privacy Policy
Terms of Use
New Music Email

Music Studies
Artist Training