TRENDING NRT NEWS: Hillsong's Mike Guglielmucci | We Are Messengers 4th Album Coming | NEEDTOBREATHE Essentials
Join The NRTeam
Excellent Rich Mullins Tribute Album
Posted November 06, 2022
By BPence,

Rich Mullins went home to be with the Lord following an accident near Lostant, Illinois on I-39 on September 19, 1997, on the way to a benefit concert in Wichita, Kansas, where he lived. Mitch McVicker was also in the vehicle, and though badly injured, he would survive. To commemorate the 25th year of Mullins’ homegoing, a new double-length album of his songs has been released. The album (and future documentary) was recorded in the living room of Mullins’ old house in Bellsburg, Tennessee, where he often crafted songs on the same piano that his parents acquired by trading for a cow from the family farm. Each of the 16 new folk/acoustic interpretations of recordings are by artists who were greatly impacted by the original versions. Each of the artists featured in the project has a personal connection with Mullins or has been deeply influenced by his music. Each side of the project ends with an original, never commercially released demo from Mullins.
The 18-track album was recorded with sparse arrangements, in some cases one voice and one instrument, so that the energy and passion of each artist (and Mullins’ lyrics) are out front. You will also occasionally hear some banter from the artists. The album was produced by Chris Hoisington, Andrew Greer served as co-producer, executive producer, Evan Sieling was co-producer and mixing, Anthony Hoisington was executive producer, Dave Trout was supervising producer, and Connie Hawk and David McCracken were special coordinators.   
Among the many artists on the album are Andrew Peterson, Ashley Cleveland, Amy Grant, Kevin Max, Ben Shive, Mitch McVicker, Jimmy Abegg, Sara Groves and Audrey Assad.  
I really enjoyed listening to this project. Some of the songs are well known while others are not.
Here is the tracklist for the project:
Hello Old Friends – Andrew Peterson, featuring Andy Gullabhorn and Ben Shive
You Did Not Have a Home – Kevin Max, featuring Mitch McVicker
Both Feet on the Ground – Ashley Cleveland
Heaven is Waiting – Brothers McClurg
Sparrow Watcher – Amy Grant, Cindy Morgan and Andrew Greer, featuring Tommy Sims
If I Stand – Steve Cudworth
I See You – Audrey Assad
Sometimes by Step – Iam Zumback, featuring Ron Block
Hold Me Jesus – Sara Groves, featuring Bonnie Keen and Andrew Greer
Whitewater – Rich Mullins
Here In America – Jason Gray, featuring Kipper Gray and Jimmy Abegg
My Deliverer – Mitch McVicker
Calling Out Your Name – Andrew Osenga and Taylor Leonhardt
Bound To Come Some Trouble – Stephen McWhirter and Jason Clayborn
Hard To Get – David Mullins, featuring Jonathan Mullins
Whitewater – Carolyn Arends
We Are Not as Strong as We Think We Are – Derek Webb
Holy Pretenders – Rich Mullins
Watch the trailer for the project here.

View All Music And Book Reviews By BPence | View BPence's Profile

Christian Music, Facebook Christian Music, Twitter Christian Music, YouTube Christian Music, Instagram

TRENDING NRT NEWS: Hillsong's Mike Guglielmucci | We Are Messengers 4th Album Coming | NEEDTOBREATHE Essentials

Christian Music

©2024 NewReleaseToday
A Division Of NRT Media Inc.


Discover New Artists
New This Week
Coming Soon
Free Music
Album Reviews

New Music
Movies / Media

NRT Now Podcast
NRT Podcast Network

Music Videos

Concert Reviews
We Love Awards

Privacy Policy
Terms of Use
New Music Email

Music Studies
Artist Training