TRENDING NEWS STORIES NRT Books Announces Launch | 'Mixtape Theology' Releasing October 2 | More News
Join The NRTeam
Sara Groves Second Christmas Album
Posted November 17, 2019
By BPence,

Sara Groves follows up her 2008 Christmas album O Holy Night with Joy of Every Longing Heart, which she calls the bookend to the earlier album. While O Holy Night featured songs about Jesus’ birth, Joy of Every Longing Heart - which is a mix of new songs, Groves’ interpretation of 5 traditional Christmas songs, and one instrumental - focuses on those who were directly part of the Nativity story, the angels, wise men and shepherds. The album’s title comes from the last line of the song “Come Thou Long Expected Jesus”. The album cover art is a rendition of the city of Bethlehem, purposefully showcasing the color tones of oranges and purples to represent the dawn and awaiting the birth of Jesus. The album was produced by John Mark Nelson and recorded at Art House North, a one hundred-year-old house in St. Paul, Minnesota. A minor complaint is that the nine songs clock in at just 32 minutes.  
Below are a few comments about each of the songs:
O Come O Come Emmanuel – This Christmas standard was written by John Mason Neale. The joyful song features light drums, bass, a guitar solo, backing vocals, and some excellent piano. A highlight.  
Angels From The Realms of Glory – This song was written by James Montgomery. The song features guitar, piano, backing vocals and light drums. The song starts slowly and then gently builds.    
God Rest Ye Merry Gentleman – This is a traditional English Christmas carol. The song features piano, strings, drums, guitar and backing vocals.
Come Thou Long Expected Jesus – This song was written by John Stainer, and features acoustic guitar, piano, some nice drum work, backing vocals and a new chorus.  
We Wait – This new song features guitar, piano, bass, drums, backing vocals. The song is about the people of Bethlehem waiting. They wait for a number of things – a sign, peace and goodwill to all men, a break in the weather, the light of the morning, and most of all they wait for Jesus.
Winter Wonderland – This song was written by Richard B. Smith and Felix Bernard. The song features a slower pace than usual and acoustic guitar, piano, bells, and backing vocals. It also includes a reference to St. Paul, Minnesota, where the album was recorded.  
Just Like They Said – This new song is seen through the eyes of a shepherd as he first heard about the birth of Jesus. The sky was on fire. It was just like they said it would be. He was wrapped in a cloak and laid in a manger. But no one believed the shepherd, instead shaking their heads and saying nothing good comes from Bethlehem. But he knows what he saw. The song features piano, bass, backing vocals, and strings.   
Tidings – This short instrumental was written by John Mark Nelson and John Arndt. The song features cello and strings.
Let Our Gladness Have No End – This song was written by G. Kucharik. It features piano, backing vocals and strings.  
Key lyric:
Let our gladness have no end, alleluia!
For to earth did Christ descend, alleluia!  
Best songs:
O Come O Come Emmanuel
Just Like They Said

View All Music And Book Reviews By BPence | View BPence's Profile

Christian Music, Facebook Christian Music, Twitter Christian Music, YouTube Christian Music, Instagram

TRENDING NEWS STORIES NRT Books Announces Launch | 'Mixtape Theology' Releasing October 2 |More News

Christian Music

©2023 NewReleaseToday
A Division Of NRT Media Inc.


Discover New Artists
New This Week
Coming Soon
Free Music
Album Reviews

New Music
Movies / Media

NRT Now Podcast
NRT Podcast Network

Music Videos

Concert Reviews
We Love Awards

Privacy Policy
Terms of Use
New Music Email

Music Studies
Artist Training